The 2019 Youth Parliament was held on 16-17 July. Competition winners were announced at a reception marking the 25th anniversary of Aotearoa New Zealand’s Youth Parliament hosted by the Hon Peeni Henare, Minister for Youth.

The 2019 competition topic was “Choose one big issue facing our society. Describe what Government could do better enable businesses to make a difference on this issue”.

Competition winner received a monetary award of $2,500. Two runner-up awards of $2,000 each.

Competition winners:
1st Prize Shine Wu Youth MP for Brett Hudson MP
1st Runner-up William Wood Youth MP for Ian McKelvie MP
2ND Runner-up Fiona Wu Youth Parliamentary Press Gallery

Highly commended awards were also awarded to Kate Morris, Sophie Dixon, James Macey and Shaneel Lal.

The next Youth Parliament is scheduled for 2022.